News: Betts Nominated For Masterton Award

The New York chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ AssociationBlair Betts nominated Blair Betts as the Rangers nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

The award looks at dedication, perseverance and sportsmanship.

Previous Rangers to win the award are Adam Graves (2000-01), Anders Hedberg (1984-85), Rod Gilbert (1975-76) and Jean Ratelle (1970-71).

Rotter: Blair Betts has been the unsung hero of the Rangers since he was brought to the team in 2003-04. He has been the team’s top penalty killer and has never received the amount of credit he deserves. He makes the Rangers penalty kill work and while you may never seen #15 Betts jerseys, littering the crowd at MSG, he has proved to be just as important a part as anyone else on the Rangers.