NEWS: The New Division Names

NHL Puck4:10PM: Paul Grant, of, spoke with Bill Daly about the division names and Daly said that there was no perfect answer for the Metropolitan division but that at a certain point you need to pick a name and go with it.

Daly said that the idea of using historic players was considered but dismissed quickly because they feel it’s easier to keep the divisions with geographic names.

1:12PM: The NHL has released the names for the realigned divisions: Pacific and Central in the Western Conference and Metropolitan and Atlantic in the East.

The Rangers will play in the Metropolitan Division along with the Flyers, Islanders, Devils, Hurricanes, Capitals, Penguins, Blue Jackets.

The Atlantic Division will include the Bruins, Sabres, Red Wings, Panthers, Montreal, Senators, Tampa Bay and Toronto.

The top three teams in each division are all guaranteed a playoff spot. The final two playoff spots will go to the teams with the best remaining record in each conference.