News: NHLPA Agrees To Realignment

The NHLPA has given it’s consent to go forward with the NHL proposed realignment.

The NHL will stay in two conferences, East and West, but break into two divisions per conference starting next season.

The Rangers division will include the Islanders, Penguins, Flyers, Devils, Hurricanes, Capitals and Blue Jackets.

Donald Fehr said in a statement that the players will re-evaluate realignment after the 2014-15 season.

The Eastern conference will have 16 teams and the West will have 14.

The top three teams in each division will have a playoff spot while the final two playoff spots will go to the teams with the best remaining records in the conference, so one division could have five teams and the other would have three teams.

The playoffs are divisional play for the first two rounds and the winners of each division play each other in the conference finals.

THIS SECTION has all the info on realignment.