NEWS: Marty St. Louis nominated for the Lady Byng Trophy

Marty St. Louis is one of three nominees for the Lady Byng Trophy.

St. Louis has won the award in 2013, 2011, 2010 and was runner up to Pavel Datsyuk in 2007, 2008 and 2009.

The Award is given “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

Ryan O’Reilly of the Avalanche and Patrick Marleau of the Sharks are the other two nominees.

The award is voted on by the Pro Hockey Writer’s Association.

  • Last year, St. Louis finished first with 47 first place votes, 29 second place votes, 21 third, 12 fourth, 10 fifth.
  • Last season Derek Stepan finished 7th in the voting, Ryan Callahan finished 10th, Henrik Lundqvist finished 42nd and Taylor Pyatt finished tied for 50th with two fourth place votes.
  • In 2011, St. Louis finished with 70 first place votes, 33 second, 10 third, 4 fourth and 1 fifth.

From the NHL release, “In quest of a repeat Lady Byng Trophy win and fourth in the past five years, St. Louis recorded the seventh 30-goal season of his NHL career (30-39–69). He led the Rangers in goals, points and power-play goals (nine) and ranked second in plus-minus (+13). St. Louis ranked third among NHL forwards in total time on ice (1,696:11), but was assessed just 10 penalty minutes — fewest among the League’s top 20 scorers. The 38-year-old native of Laval, Que., is a Lady Byng finalist for the eighth time in the past 10 years.”

The last Ranger to win the award was Wayne Gretzky in 1999.

Brad Richards was a winner in 2004, a runner up in 2006 and in 2010.