Read: Dan Girardi Wins Rangers Media Award

Dan Girardi-Scott Hartnell-Hartne--Pat Leonard of the Daily News announced that Dan Girardi is the 2013 recipient of the Rangers “John Halligan Good Guy Award.”

The award is given to the player who has cooperated with the media and been a spokesperson for the team.

Previous winners of the award are:

  • Brian Boyle (2012)
  • Ryan Callahan(2011)
  • Erik Christensen/Vinny Prospal(2010)
  • Tom Renney(2009)
  • Henrik Lundqvist(2008)
  • Brendan Shanahan(2007)
  • Jaromir Jagr(2006)

Players are not allowed to win the award more than once.

Leonard says that Girardi has always been around to answer questions and hold himself accountable during this season.

The award has been given out annually since 1975.