Read: Why Chris Kreider Will Win The Calder Trophy

At Backhand Shelf, Justin Bourne writes that Chris Kreider will win the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year this season and lists five reasons why.

Bourne writes that the chance Kreider will have to play on a line with players such as Derek Stepan, Rick Nash, Ryan Callahan, Brad Richards and, when he returns from injury, Marian Gaborik.

He also praises Kreider’s size as a 6-3, 230lb player who is willing to go into the tough areas to score. He adds that “It doesn’t hurt that Kreider’s release is deadly once he gets there.”

For the most part Bourne thinks that Kreider will win the award because of the amount of defensemen taken high in this years draft compared to the amount of scorers.

Since the lockout, the Calder Trophy winner has scored:

11-12Gabriel Landeskig1922 goals and 30 assists
10-11Jeff Skinner1831 goals and 32 assists
09-10Tyler Myers1911 goals and 37 assists
08-09Steve Mason20Goalie
07-08Patrick Kane1921 goals and 51 assists
06-07Evgeni Malkin2033 goals and 52 assists
05-06Alex Ovechkin2052 goals and 54 assists

The last non-goalie to win the award over the age of 21 was Chris Drury in 1999 with 20 goals and 24 assists.